Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Landscape designers native planting suggestion - thoughts?

Posted by gala522 5 (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 19, 08 at 17:07

We're building a new home. The developer wants a native planting bed in the back corner of our property. I'm all for the concept, but I'm new to natives and a novice gardener.

Here's the plant list provided by the landscape designer...
5 Ninebark
5 Purple willow
5 I.G. (this isn't spelled out... any ideas?)
10 Purple coneflowers
10 Swan coneflowers
10 Black-eyed Susans
10 Whorled milkweed
50 mix of rose verbena, Missouri evening primrose, purple poppy
2 Cedar
1 Oak

I will be responsible for maintaining this bed. My biggest concern is that the plants require little maintenance to look nice. The plants I'm familiar with from the list (black-eyed susans, puple coneflowers, swan conflowers) are sufficiently low maintenance for me, but I don't have any experience with the others.

What do you think? Should I be concerned about any of these plants?

Thank you!
Gala

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Landscape designers native planting suggestion - thoughts?

The ninebark is a shrub, commonly used for a border or screen. It could benefit from an occasional pruning, a nice choice.

And the list is common names which can be misleading. Purple willow, salix purpurea, isn't necessarily native. There are plenty of native willows, and perhaps he is planning to use a native one, but without having the latin name, you can't be sure.

The same could be true for the IG... if he had used latin names, I might guess that its an ilex (or holly species) but the latin names that are Ilex g.... are typically not the native hollies, either. But really, I have no idea what IG is...

As you know the coneflowers are nice.

I don't really care for evening primrose, as I think its weedy, but that is personal opinion. I know other people who love it...