Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Explaining WHY natives?!

Posted by terryr z5a IL (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 14, 05 at 22:10

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping a lot of people will chime in here. I've got some friends that don't understand the WHY (as in why I'm planting natives and being extremly picky) natives approach. I try to explain, but they still don't seem to get it. Today I was talking to a friend (on the phone) that was telling me of all the butterflies on her butterfly bush. I was trying to explain the benefit of planting something that is native. Host plant, nectar etc. I'm still learning myself, so that probably doesn't help me...and I'm not a native nazi and am not preaching, not just trying to explain:)

Would you like to help me explain it?

Thanks all,

Terry

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Explaining WHY natives?!

The trick is to treat yourself as a nutty collector and to resist the urge to convert others. After all, no one asks stamp collectors or model train collectors or yellow cornflower depression glass collectors why and the collectors do not try to get others to become collectors unless the other has expressed interest.

If someone shows me their non native garden, I admire it. If they offer me cuttings, I politely refuse and tell them I only garden with natives, I don't explain why unless they ask. If they ask why, I tell them because natives are drought and pest tolerant, that I like to garden ecologically and because it gives discipline and boundaries to my plant buying. Only if they actually ask how to get started in natives or to recommend natives suited to their yard or to explain ecological gardening do I get into detail.

If someone has a problem area with plants not doing well, I will recommend natives suited to their site, I do tell them they are natives, why they will grow better, how they will attract birds and butterflies and do point out any shortcomings the plant might have.