Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Interior Design Student with Question on Tree Planting for a Proj

Posted by katie0801 none (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 13, 13 at 13:23

Hi everyone,

I just joined today because i'm looking for some information on tree planting. I'm not sure if this is the best forum for this topic, but if you have any knowledge that could help, please leave a comment.

I am an interior design student, and i'm doing a design for a retail design experience store for a brand that makes sustainable products, where if you buy their product, they plant a tree. We have to create a store based on the new trend of the brand exerience store, a more interactive approach to retail since so many people these days can just buy online. One of my ideas was that when they make the purchase, they could somehow plant their tree in store, and be shipped out that day to its destination.

I don't know anything about this, and don't know if this would be possible. This is an actual brand that works with American Forests and Trees for the People, and I would just like to know if this would actually be possible and practical in real life, and if these companies, or another company does something like this.

I'm thinking that, to plant a tree in store, for it to be an experience it would have to start as a seed, because wouldn't a baby tree already need to be planted? You cant just unplant a baby tree and give it to a customer to plant, only to replant once again somewhere permantly...right?

Please leave your thoughts and insight!
Thanks!
Katie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Interior Design Student with Question on Tree Planting for a

Katie-

The place to post this question is the Trees forum here on Gardenweb - the regulars there know just about everything about trees.

o