Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Does butterflyweed need a splint?

Posted by noelladsa 6 (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 20, 13 at 22:08

I'm a newbie gardener and this is my first season of planting .I grew Butterfly Weed from seed and eventually moved them to my yard. Its been around three months and I noticed that the plants (around 20 of them) have all grown in the direction of the wind, some at terrible angles.

Is splinting necessary? I read somewhere else that butterflyweed dies down to the ground in winter.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Does butterflyweed need a splint?

Almost all of the butterfly weed I have seen grows at an angle. When the clump gets large, the slant isn't quite so noticiable.

Mine have all already turned brown and are almost down for the winter season.

o

If it breaks off, it will develop shoots from the middle, which I think is actually a good thing. Mine (ONE plant) is the same, just one LONG shoot. But I didn't have the heart to cut it off. I was waiting for it to develop a flower and then a seedhead, but it never did. BooHoo! I'm having bad luck with them, but this year I saw them blooming in two different places along the local roadside!!!!

o

There could be a couple of issues going on here. The first is that the shock of transplanting has them a bit weakened and once they get established, they'll straighten up. The second is that perhaps you've planted them in a non-ideal area? I see that moss is growing on the dirt which typically likes moist and shady areas. Butterflyweed likes drier and sunnier conditions so perhaps they're struggling?

o

Well, what happened was in spring and summer, the butterflyweed patch got a few hours of direct sunlight in the morning and afternoon. Maybe 4 hours of direct light.

Now in the fall, there is no direct sunlight anywhere in my yard.I hope they show up next spring and maybe get stronger.