Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
100,000 Buckthorns to kill

Posted by dandy_line 4a-Mn (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 9, 07 at 14:43

I thought I would open this subject on my system for killing Buckthorn here in Mn. I have been working on my 3 acre plot for 5 years now trying to kill it all. There were about 50 large trees and many more small shrubs when I started. Cutting down the trees and shrubs opened up the canopy and subsequently, the plants suckered with 50 times more plants and the dormant seeds in the ground added thousandns more. So, my system now is to use strong doses of 2-4-d. I can get 65% 2-4-d at Fleet Farm for about $16/gal. Using a strength around 2%, I get the new growth in April and May before the native plants come up. This pretty well kills the new growth and most of the plant.
So, along with pulling by hand, digging with shovel, and dousing with 2-4-d, I estimate my total kill will be around 100,000 plants by the time I'm done(another 5 years, maybe).

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: 100,000 Buckthorns to kill

I had a similar problem when I moved to this property (2 acres). I currently have little to no buckthorn because I have an even bigger problem...DEER. They eat everything that's not toxic including the buckthorn. I'd rather have your problem than deer.

But I digress. Try concentrated roundup. When you cut a tree or plant of buckthorn, paint the roundup on the FRESH CUT. It is absorbed directly into the sap stream and gos to the root. this not only kills the plant but prevents suckering without the risk to neighboring plants.

Applying 2-4D, which is soil active can be absorbed by the roots of neighboring plants even if they're dormant and can cause damage.

Good luck!

o

Roundup makes a new "woody" plant killer, be sure and get that one instead of the original one. Brush-b-Gon is another good product.

o

Ahhhh killing Buckthorn, one of my favorite subjects (not really).