Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Searching for Duckweed

Posted by LaughRaven none (My Page) on
Fri, Dec 16, 11 at 23:22

I'm a student at my county's Agriculture Science & Technology college. For a project I have decided to grow and experiment with a hydrophyte. I'm looking to buy a small amount of the Giant Duckweed (Spirodela Polyrrhiza) as I have been unable to find any natural resources of it in any of my local waters. If you have any of this particular Duckweed and wouldn't mind selling me a portion of it, please let me know.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Searching for Duckweed

There are different sizes of duck weed?

o

There are indeed. Lemna minor, for instance, is a smaller duckweed, and previously known as Lemna major, later renamed Spirodela Polyrrhiza, is a considerably larger type of duckweed.

I could name you the specific dimensions and act like a know it all, but you would be better off punching in "Duckweed" into Google search and you'll get all the information you like on the several different types of Duckweeds.

o

Every pond or lake I've seen has duckweed - are you near any water like this?

o
RE:: Searching for Duckweed

Every pond or lake I've seen has duckweed - are you near any water like this?

o

Yea, they like to kill it here. It is every where.

o

I'm out in Arizona, north of Phoenix. I havn't been able to find any growing naturally around, so instead I'm trying to find a place to buy some on-line. Anyone know of a website that might sell small amounts of the different Duckweeds?

o

http://www.pondplants.com/aisle6.html

This site ships small amounts, but recommends you check with your state's laws about importing 'weeds' into Arizona.

Here is a link that might be useful: Various pond plants for sale via internet

o