Return to the Northeast Coastal Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Gardening Club in Brookhaven

Posted by summerain Z6 N.Coram, NY (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 13, 06 at 23:24

Hi! I just came across the ivillage Garden Web and I've been looking for a Garden Club in my area. I have tried to find one and to date have not found one. I do however go to anything garden related at my library.
I would like to find out if maybe someone near me would like to start up our own Garden Club or at least share secrets, plants and tips.
I am a Stay-at-home-Mom and just really got into gardening two years ago. I am a novice to say the least but would love to learn and share what I have learned.
Thanks again for your time. I hope to hear from you.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Gardening Club in Brookhaven

I hope you find one. Ive been looking for one in my area - Babylon, havent found one.
I absolutely love love love gardening.
Good luck.

o

• Posted by lee1 z7 Long Island (My Page) on
    Wed, Feb 22, 06 at 10:22

I believe there is a Patchogue and and a Sayville Gardening Club which also have tours of local gardens. There is also a Long Island rose Society and Daylilly Society. You can contact the local Cooperative Extension at Kermit W. Graf Cornell Cooperative Extension Building 423 Griffing Avenue, Suite 100, Riverhead, NY 11901-3071 or
Tel: 631-727-7850, Email: suffolk@cornell.edu. They might be able to help you. Happy Gardening!

o

I belong to the Patchogue Garden Club. There is also a club in Bellport ( by invite), and I believe Setaucket also has a club. I thought I had posted the Patchogue meeting once before, and I believe Spike ( former web owner)may have deleted it. If you call the Chamber of Commerse in Patchogue, they will give you our contact person...she also is a Chamber member. We are a very open , friendly group with alot of activities , and welcome new members. Susan

o