Return to the Northeast Coastal Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Beginner Seaside Gardener

Posted by Richard392 6b (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 19, 13 at 12:17

I am a beginner gardener directly on the ocean in Hull, Massachusetts, just south of Boston. Full exposure to salty air and winter Nor'easters. I appreciate any advise on appropriate shrubs, grasses and perennials and annuals. Thank you.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Beginner Seaside Gardener

How far from the water is the most inland portion of your lot? How "hands on" a gardener are you? What is the elevation? Is it the sheltered side of Hull? Is salt spray or erosion an issue?

My parents live on the coast and occasionally lose trees and land during hurricanes.

The Massachusetts Office of Coastal Management has a great page listing plants that survive salt spray and help with erosion.

http://www.mass.gov/czm/coastal_landscaping/plants.htm

For the most coastal side of your land, I like Beach Plums. They are a New England Native, they flower, they produce fruit, they are super salt tolerant. They are one of the few things I can successfully plant and ignore, and which will survive without follow up care. (I have a terrible brown thumb and a habit of planting things in my parent's yard, where I can't water them often) Unfortunately they look a little scrubby and are hard to find, but you can't have everything.

The Plymouth County Soil Conservation District has an annual sale every Spring where they sell cheap Beach Plum saplings and American Beach Grass. Get on their mailing list.

http://www.plymouthcountyconservation.org/sain.html

Others have suggested Bayberry, a salt tolerant native that produces berries and fixes nitrogen. Also looks kinda scrubby. Bearberry (different plant) is a low, slow growing, salt tolerant groundcover that has been recommended to me. I've had less luck with those (See brown thumb comment above) but see a lot of Bayberry growing around.