Return to the Northeast Coastal Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
hummingbirds

Posted by amyg26 z7 LINY (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 23, 05 at 9:37

I was finally able to catch my visitors by camera. It's been especially busy this past week.

Here is a link that might be useful: hummingbird

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: hummingbirds

i'm not sure about that link.....you might need this

Here is a link that might be useful: hummers

o

Lucky you! That bird is adorable. What plant is he eating from? I'm new to hummers this year. Got my first feeder and got a cross vine, cardinal flower, jacob cline monarda and next year will get lots more hummingbird loving flowers.

I still haven't seen one at my feeder, but maybe because I don't have enough of the nector rich flowers they love.
I'm in the Babylon area, what part of Long Island are you on?

o

They really seem to like the red salvia greggii. I planted it last year in the ground but did not get any birds. This year, it is in three window boxes that are in a line across my mudroom and laundry room. In addition, I have cypress vine (Ipomoea quamoclit...this may be the same as your cardinal flower) growing up around the windows over the boxes.

I have 2 feeders about 15 feet away from the window boxes in the middle of a large flower garden. They definitely prefer the flowers.

I am out east in the Westhampton area.

o

Thanks for the info. I've read that they love any of the salvia greggii, and I know they love red too. Do you have a picture of it in the windowboxes? I would love to see it.

o

The salvia is in the posted pictures, but looks more magenta than red due to my camera.

If you google "image" I'm sure you will find some good pictures.

Is anyone else finding these "sponsored links" are really slowing things down on garden web?

o

• Posted by KWoods Cold z7 Long Is (My Page) on
    Tue, Aug 30, 05 at 11:00

Thanks for posting those hummingbird pics!