Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gregsamsa

A bizarre request

gregsamsa
11 years ago

I am a fiction writer who is trying to hunt down an elusive creature. I'm looking for an insect, indigenous to Massachusetts, that might be seen exhibiting interesting (or disgusting, preferrably) behavior mid-Autumn, in the early 1600s (thus the need for an indigenous species). All the gross/fascinating specimens I've come across I have later discovered were imported/invasive/etc. I would deeply appreciate any species suggestions, or any advice on other resources. I want to exhaust this sort of attempt before I get my nerve on and pester an actual entymologist.

Comments (22)

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    11 years ago

Monarch butterflies are emerging from chrysalises in autumn. They emerge with shriveled wings and fat bodies, and then pump fluid from the body into the wings to expand them. It isn't a very pretty process, though I wouldn't necessarily call it disgusting. My memory is that it takes an hour or two for the shriveled lumpy brownish black thing that first emerges from the chrysalis to become the familiar monarch butterfly.

• claireplymouth z6b coastal MA
    11 years ago

Maybe a Praying Mantis?. There are native mantises, such as the Carolina Mantis, although many non-natives have been imported. The Carolina Mantis is found in Massachusetts.

Sexual cannibalism seems to be common to all mantises, as well as the usual predatory nastiness.

Claire

This post was edited by claire on Fri, Jan 11, 13 at 10:31

• gardenweed_z6a
    11 years ago

Not to mention that a praying mantis will lie in wait on a hummingbird feeder for a chance to attack, kill & chow down on a hummer...

• pixie_lou
    11 years ago

Have you picked up an insect guide to New England?