Return to the New England Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
starting hardy hibiscus from seed?

Posted by ponytail73 NH 5 (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 2, 13 at 11:10

Hi all! Im new to garden web but have used this site a lot over the past few years as referance since buying my home and becoming addicted to growing things inside and out! Last fall I collected the pods from a hardy hibiscus that actually flowered, after 2 yrs! I got it bare root and assumed it dead each spring but finally! success!! My question is how and when, or if i even should bother starting new plants from sead? I really love to recycle my guys! and would appreciate any and all advice. I have some incredable need to start these projects now that the holidays are over, the christmas tree is down and I just cant wait to set up plant table and lights!! I've gotten some great advice from people all over in just the few days I've joined this site and as a amiture gardener I could not be more grateful!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: starting hardy hibiscus from seed?

Hi ponytail73 and welcome to the forums! I have started hardy hibiscus seed successfully using the winter sowing method. I think they are pretty easy to do. That was a few years ago and I still have that plant in my garden. I have also really enjoyed starting seed. I loved it even more after I found out about winter sowing. So, that would be my suggestion, that you head over to the winter sowing forum and there are usually tons of enthusiastic gardeners that just love to help newcomers. It is an entirely different method from starting seeds under lights indoors, but you may find it fascinating as many people do. I preferred it to indoor lights. It's nice to start thinking of next season. Good luck!

o