Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dftkarin

blueberries and rasberries in tiny yard??

dftkarin
18 years ago

Hi!

I live in western Mass and have a 7 year old child who loves blue berries and rasberries and I would like to try to grow some in our tiny yard so he can enjoy snacking on them. I'm a complete beginner at growing berries and I was looking through a Gurney's catalog at their offerings. Are they a reliable place to buy things? I would like to get one or two bushes of the easiest and most reliable blueberrise and rasberries for my zone/area. Any suggestions, tips, warnings or leads would be so appreciated!! I realize that if I plant canes this spring I may not have berries until '07, right? Can I grow one bush each of two different types of rasberries? One with fruit in summer and one in fall? Or do I need two types of the same kind so they polinate each other? Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!!

Comments (57)

• diggingthedirt
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

My main source of info when I was first looking into blueberries was the UMass Cooperative Extension's Small Fruit Culture handbook, and I just pulled it from the shelf, where it's been gathering dust for years.

It states that "many varieties of blueberry are nearly self-unfruitful under some conditions, so it is best to plant at least two varieties". Maybe the 3-variety collections work because they don't include the earliest or latest varieties; so the one that blooms in the middle overlaps with both earlier and later varieties.

After all the planning I did, my highbush blueberry patch has been turned into a shade garden by a neighbor's quick-growing maple, and the berries are pretty scarce. I still love these plants, though, and will eventually find another area for a patch.