Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindsroc

Lilacs and hydrangeas ok to plant in zone 7a?

lindsroc
12 years ago

We had some tree stumps removed from our side yard and I wanted to plant some nice colorful floweri shrubs. The space lines our driveway and is a space in between us and our neighbors lot. The space gets morning sun. Would this spot be ok for lilacs and hydrangeas? Are they fairly tolerant shrubs? I'm a complete novice so need something hardy. Any advice would be great. Also, how soon can these be planted? We are planning on starting everything around April.

Comments (5)

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    12 years ago

Is the space wide enough so that when the shrubs are full width there will still be room to open car doors and get out without having to brush against the shrubbery? Will there be enough room to put snow if you get enough for that to be a consideration? If you end up with a lot of salt on your drive and this will run off onto this planting bed, I don't think that either of these plants are very salt tolerant, and I'd think about getting something else.

As far as light levels, morning sun is perfect for hydrangeas if you have a way to water them when necessary, as they aren't tolerant of drought. If there are 6-8 hours of sun or more, the lilacs will be happy, but without enough sun they will grow, but not bloom as well.

For spring planting, you want the soil dry enough so that it won't over-compact and destroy the pore structure as you plant. In my area I wait until after freeze thaw cycles are done, though light frost is OK. I don't know if either the soil moisture levels or freezing temperatures are likely to be a problem for you in zone 7 in April or not.

• gardenweed_z6a
    12 years ago