Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carol6ma_7ari

With Forks and Hope

carol6ma_7ari
14 years ago

(that's a quote from Lewis Carroll's "The Hunting of the Snark")

Snow, bleakness, cold, wind, more snow: is there anything hopeful coming out of these endless February days? Yes!

The magnolia buds are swelling.

The willows are turning golden.

Days are longer.

The cardinal and the bluejay have found mates and their colors are turning brilliant.

Do you see buds and hope outside your windows?

Carol

Comments (19)

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    14 years ago

Hi Carol, I took a walk around the garden the other day. I've had swollen buds since the fall and I'm hoping not to see any more of that until March. [g] I'm a little afraid that my shrubs won't leaf out normally next spring. Everything still looks like winter out there to me. Brrrr!

• claireplymouth z6b coastal MA
    14 years ago

I heard some different bird songs this morning (I'm not good at identifying bird songs). Much more singing than recently, though. The sun rose before 7AM and it will still be light at 5PM.

Otherwise, it looks the same out there plant-wise. Spring is really slow here on the coast, so I'm not expecting much yet.

Claire

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    14 years ago

Well, the weird thing is, yesterday I was outside in the morning shoveling, because it snowed. But the air had that "feeling" of oncoming spring! I don't know how to describe it. There's a kind of dampness, or maybe it's a smell, and a feel.... I don't know. But whatever it is, I felt it while I was literally shoveling snow. It was a very hopeful feeling.

That, and the other day I noticed daffodil nubbins poking out of the ground. I was actually surprised to see them since I haven't even seen the snowdrop or crocuses nubbins yet, and they usually pop up first.

Oh, and the days are definitely longer!
    :)
    Dee

• bill_ri_z6b
    14 years ago