Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greendale_gw

Flower Tree ID

greendale
12 years ago

Hi:

Last week we were driving on US-1 in North Kingstown RI, saw a blooming tree with color between pink and purple - maybe hot pink? My 3 year-old daughter likes that flower tree very much and wanted us to get one for her. But we did not take a picture so just wondering maybe somebody could throw some names here so we can do a google search. The tree is not too tall, about 4 feet, bush looking, not cherry I would guess (or maybe it is, I am not good at plant's names - you would know that by this post :). And it is a very common tree since we saw the same tree couple times on US-1.

Also, another question - are those yellow blooming tree all along the roads now forsythia or winter jasmine?

Comments (13)

• tree_oracle
    12 years ago

The yellow shrubs that you're seeing everywhere are forsythia.

The flowering tree that you are seeing might be a Manchurian Azalea aka Azalea mucronulatum. There's one at a house about a mile and a half from me that is simply breathtaking. I was just looking around and really couldn't find many good pictures of them on the internet except for the link that I've included below. You have to scroll down that webpage a bit to find it.

Here is a link that might be useful: Azalea Mucronulatum

• bill_ri_z6b
    12 years ago

If the shrub you saw has leaves as well as flowers, it could also be PJM hybrid Rhododendron. They are in bloom now in some spots because of the warm weather last week. The leaves look dark green now. If there are NO leaves but ONLY blossoms, then it probably is Azalea mucronulatum as tree oracle said above.

{{gwi:5901}}

• paigect
    12 years ago

Could it have been a redbud? Are they blooming yet in RI?

• bill_ri_z6b
    12 years ago