Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hohumhollow

It's almost May, have you planted out any veggies yet?

hohumhollow
13 years ago

I'm new to New England gardening and am so afraid to put out my seedlings too early. Does anyone have anything out yet? When would you recommend?

Comments (13)

• carol6ma_7ari
    13 years ago

Welcome to the northeast! First of all, before seedlings, you can already plant seeds for those cold-weather vegetables: chard, peas, lettuce, spinach, kale. And a few others. As for actual seedlings, wait a bit for the hot-weather veggies such as tomatoes & peppers. Cabbage family (broccoli, cauliflower, etc.) seedlings (not just seeds) can be planted now.

• pixie_lou
    13 years ago

Depending on where you are and your particular exposure, the last frost date in this area ranges from ~10 May thru the end of May. Memorial Day weekend is the big time for planting most seedlings

• mmqchdygg
    13 years ago

What they all said â plus more:

If you are direct-seeding, def wait til at least after the last full moon in May (17th).

If you are a winter sower (see that forum here at Gardenweb), you can start them all now in containers (outside!), including your tomatoes and others. I just sowed my beans & squash this weekend, peas have been in since early March (and ready to be planted out), and toms I'm just waiting for them to sprout (you can actually do toms earlier via the winter-sowing method.)

Welcome to New England!

Here is a link that might be useful: Winter Sowing forum

• elizh
    13 years ago

I transplanted 5 week old lettuce seedlings today, and sowed radish. Very late, for me (normally a cold frame gardener.) Garlic (fall planted) has been up for over a month, as have other onion-y perennials and rhubarb. My tomato seedlings are 4", as are the leeks. Seedlings ready to go out now:

leeks, sweet peas, wallflowers, broccoli, cabbage, parsley. All will tolerate some frost. Cilantro and dill I would protect; also thyme and rosemary.