Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dfaustclancy

Spring Liming - do you do it?

dfaustclancy
13 years ago

Hello all.

I'm just about to put down lime for the lime-lovers (clematis and lilacs and I forget what all else) Wanna remind me what else needs lime (or is that another post LOL) Shall I use pellets or powder, I have both. I assume the pellets put down a little at a time over a longer period where the powder must give all at once, I think. What's your choice and why? Can I hear from you experts out there? Happy Spring!

Comments (5)

• carol6ma_7ari
    13 years ago

Definitely the pellets. It rains so often that the powder would get washed away. I just sprinkle a little, around, yes, the lilacs and the clematis. Also put a bit into the veg. garden soil. But I keep it away from the hydrangeas which I want blue. Lime might make it pink.

Happy Spring, hah! Still raining and cold. Bah.

• diggingthedirt
    13 years ago

I'm no expert, but I have limed gardens and lawns in past years. It's a good task for late winter, and I've done it on nice days in January when I desperately need to be outside doing something. April is certainly fine, just don't apply it any time near when you might be using a fertilizer that contains nitrogen; I made that mistake once when reseeding part of a lawn, and the results were terrible. I mixed lots of manure and lime into the soil, and nothing would grow in that area for months.

I usually have more than enough wood ash at the end of the winter, so I don't often buy lime. I haven't noticed any difference in results between pellets and powder, it does take weeks or more for the lime to get down to the root level and for the soil to react.

Also, on the Cape, our soil is so acidic that I usually give my blue hydrangeas a little lime or ash; I DO like blue, but prefer pinkish over turquoise, which is what some of my hydrangeas tend towards if left on their own.

• dfaustclancy
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Carol6ma,