Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jpcn17

Ideas for steep slope

jpcn17
9 years ago

Hello, I have a steep (about 45 degrees) slope in my backyard that is currently rocky and only has scrub brush. It seems like it could be a great space for some interesting landcape designs, or even just some plantings / groundcover that will grow in semi-rocky soil in afternoon sun. Pics attached. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated! the space is about 40 feet wide and from the base to the pine trees is about 15 feet.

Comments (15)

• Persimmons
    9 years ago

How about mass plantings of lavender in the back, near the top of the slope? Their height will blur the line between the trees on top and the slope itself, creating an illusion where the definition of slope could disappear to the eye.

As an avid food gardener, that would be a great slope to grow cucurbits (so long as you amended the soil to improve the rocky, dry nature of it).

For an adventurous landscaping project, you could terrace garden the slope, add an earthen walk way to the top for access.

• tree_oracle
    9 years ago

Two things come to mind. Both involve rocks. One is to convert the hillside into a rock garden. The addition of several large stones into the hillside help terrace the slope to a degree so that erosion is inhibited and it provides soil pockets for planting rock garden plants that would provide substantial interest. Just google rock garden plants to get an idea of what you can choose from. Some that immediately come to mind are heather, phlox, ice plant, sedum, thyme, pinks, and dwarf evergreens. Another idea for the slope that involves rocks is a water feature. This of course is a little more work to make it look natural. Some ornamental grasses and small cascading Japanese maples would look good with a water feature.

• gardenweed_z6a
    9 years ago