Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annie_knot

flowering shrub along back of covered porch

annie_knot
15 years ago

Can someone suggest a flowering shrub that could be limbed up and be trained as a tree - on the small side, no more than 10 feet or so? The real issue is width because it will be planted for privacy reasons in a 6-foot wide bed along my back porch, there is a flagstone walk along the front of the bed. Zone 5, full sun, good soil, medium wetness. Will live there with daphne, kiss me rosa, white peony, purple daylilies, 2 burkwood broom, and 5 plum crazy hibiscus. I want something that I can shape to give privacy more to the top rather than the bottom - the porch is 3 feet high. I don't mind doing a little pruning. I'm cautious about fruit because I don't want birds and their gifts so close to the porch. Some fall color would be icing on the cake.

Comments (6)

• amysrq
    15 years ago

I am new to zone 5 but have been doing a lot of research about the same. In Florida, we had crepe myrtles that could be pruned into just such a shape. The closest thing I think I've found is an Amelanchier. You can get them with multiple stems and then prune them up. Some have great Fall color. But, they are deciduous. Oh....I just looked. They do make berries, so maybe that's not a good idea for you. Nice plant though.

• runktrun
    15 years ago

How about a wisteria standard? Keep in mind what ever standard you chose will like a tree make a fair amount of shade for the plants below it, under my wisteria I have hellebore growing happily. kt

Here is a link that might be useful: White Flower Farm

• annie_knot
    Original Author
    15 years ago