Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tracybug

New Kid On The Block Needs Advice!!!

tracybug
14 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I'm new here as well as to gardening!!! Just bought my first house late last fall and am so excited to start my first real flower gardens. I'm in zone 6a .....That's pretty much all I know!!

I live in Massachusetts very close to Cape Cod and know that the soil tends to be on the sandy side. Most of my yard is in partial sun but it seems to get a pretty good dose of full sun in most areas for at least a few hours each day. I have a side yard that is quite shady but was hoping I could still come up with some pretty color for this area as well. I do know that I have some Hostas that seemed to be growing quite nicely when we first looked at the house in the early fall. I would love any advice on flowers that would do well in my area and in my conditions. Since I'm new at this easy to care for would be pretty important!!

Thank You,

Tracy

Comments (9)

• WendyB 5A/MA
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Tracy,
    welcome to the forum.

It might be a good idea to hold back this first year and observe what the existing garden has. If you bought the house late last fall, you missed any spring and summer blooming plants.

Are there any plants starting to come up? Are there shrubs or trees with buds on them? Don't be too quick to do any weeding. Might be perennials. If there are beds, there is likely to be some color. Or, are you planning to carve out new beds? or expand existing beds?