Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lapoltba

New Member, New Homeowner, New Questions

lapoltba
10 years ago

Hello all! Just joined with hope of finding some good advice for my new home with some landscaping problems resulting from years of neglect.

To keep the story short, I just bought a home in January '13 and am now getting a good look at the landscaping. My house sits on a slope, and behind it there is a hillside sloped at about a 30deg angle (fairly steep). It was neglected for what appears to be a long time by the previous owner, and I have just begun to clean it up to try and make it look better.

I am looking for ideas for plantings, preferably cheap, that will retain the already established stability of the hill/soil, but look presentable.

My preference is toward the natural, low maintenance meadow type planting but I'm a novice gardener at best. If I could get some native high grasses and wildflowers to grow on the slope I would be very happy.

I look forward to you're help!

*EDIT*
Forgot to add: The area is West-Southwest facing with mostly full sun.

This post was edited by lapoltba on Sun, Apr 28, 13 at 21:03

Comments (17)

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

To start, a wildflower meadow is probably *not* a native ecosystem where you are. So it is not going to be a low maintenance solution. What wants to be there are trees, because that is true for most of the northeast. The exceptions are places that are too wet for trees, or where the soil is too thin for trees. Otherwise, there are trees. So be prepared to either accept the trees or fight them.

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    10 years ago