Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kellycrash

Starting small with foundation landscape - help!

kellycrash
11 years ago

I have an area that is 16 ft 8 inches long by 3ft 6 inches wide. Ideally would like something that grows 4ft or less.

Here's a picture of the area:

& For some perspective here's a pic of the house:

{{gwi:20357}}

I am considering blue baron rhododendrons, arctic rose azaleas, and some dwarf English boxwood.

I realize my area may not be wide enough, but my thought was I would just prune it to make it fit as it grows bigger.

I'm a newb. I really have no idea what I'm doing. This area doesn't get sun till around 1pm. I have a wooded lot across the street. I get full sun from like 1pm till 4pm. Approximately.

I have had suggestions to do perennials and whatnot here, but that is going to take a heck of a lot of them and they're expensive. I'm not opposed to perennials mixed in with something bigger.

I'm in Central Massachusetts. The USDA zone finder says I'm in 5B? Seems like it was something different last time I looked. I just did the zone calculator today and that's what it says.

Comments (5)

• diggingthedirt
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Welcome to the New England forum! Your house looks really nice, and I hope you have a great time planning the gardens. It's a rewarding hobby - or for some of us, more of an obsession than a hobby.

Planting something that's too big for the space is a very common newbie mistake - I know that because I did it for years. It's MUCH BETTER to plan for the ultimate size of the plants, and not have to keep pruning. Plants fare better, and look better, if they're allowed to grow the way they would naturally, with just a snip here and there if needed to keep them nicely shaped.