Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
humarocktom

New home tree design ?

HumarockTom
9 years ago

We built our dream home however failed to budget for our dream landscape. I have some experience with landscaping but I am eager to learn especially since $ is a major concern. We had a LA complete a design which helped a lot with retaining walls and general scope of the project however I'm not in love with all his planting suggestions.

For this post I am soliciting help to create focal point beds in the front and want to start with unique trees this year. Next year will be more shrubs and perennials.

(see pix) Home is on a steep hillside and the house sits on an angle to street. The back of the home faces the east and the front faces the west. Mid day sun in front is plentiful. LAs design callled for JPM Rhodes and Hollies, with high/low grasses. A cleveland pear focal, and boxwoods. (note: The old cedar in front will be removed in a couple years once other trees established.)

Trees I have already bought and could use:
-Chamaecyparis Nootkatensis (currently 4')
-Bruns Pendule (4')
-Japanese Maple Ukigumo (Floating Cloud currently 5')
-White Dogwood (4')
-Eastern Redbud (4')
-2 Green Velvet Boxwoods (3')
-Witchita Blue Cypress (3')

Trees I would like to include:
-Gold Mop Cypress
-Paper birch

Comments (13)

• HumarockTom
    Original Author
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Another photo

• HumarockTom
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This photo shows the grading from the driveway to front door. I want to eventually build two tiered retaining walls with a natural stone staircase leading to walkway, to door. I was thinking of using either the Nootkatensis, the Japanese Maple, or the Paper Birch. Or using a combo of two with a short jap maple (5' max cultiv) on far side on proposed staircase with Noot or Paper birch closer to home(still 8-10 feet from foundation.)

This post was edited by HumarockTom on Wed, May 21, 14 at 14:48

• pixie_lou