Return to the New England Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Companion plants with concolor fir

Posted by kitchennewbie10 10 (My Page) on
Fri, May 10, 13 at 16:49

Hi, I just planted 3 con color firs (white pines), and I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on what to plant with them. It is a sunny location in CT, and I'd love to bring some color, with plants that are less maintenance. Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Companion plants with concolor fir

I just googled the con color fir. This tree easily gets 50' or 100' tall with a spread of 20'. How big are they now? Anything you plant now will be covered by the firs in a matter of time.

o

They are about 5 feet tall, and I spaced them for growth. Was just hoping I could fill in while they are growing. Groundcover would be great if bushes don't work. I'm a novice, so any help is appreciated.

o

I think your trees are Abies concolor, trees that are grown here in CT as a newer variety of Christmas tree. These have a very distinctive citrus-like scent and longish, soft blue-green needles. This variety grows slowly so you don't have to worry about tremendous height for many, many years.

I'm also not clear about what you are want as companions "plants that are less maintenance". Are you thinking of shrubs, perennials, or ground covers? Could you post a photo of the trees? It's difficult to make suggestions without seeing them in their environment.

Molie

o