Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deannatoby

What are your veggies doing?

We built a terraced veggie area last year. I've planted some things in it, and nothing seems to be really growing. Nothing's dying, but nothing's growing. I thought my cool-weather crops like lettuce, spinach, and such would have been showing growth this whole time. Is it normal for them to still be 2" tall (which is about how tall they were when I planted the WS seedlings out) after 4 weeks? I'm mailing my soil off for testing this week. This just doesn't seem normal to me. I can understand warm weather crops not growing, but cool weather crops? I must also say this is my first year to do veggie gardening.

Comments (8)

• 2ajsmama
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Around here we don't plant until Mem. Day, though I have been tempted this week. My dad grew up farming this land with his dad and grandpa, I guess 100 yrs of experience counts for something (unless global warming has changed things). I don't know specifically about cool-weather crops though. If they're not dying from the hot weather followed by the freeze we (you?) had the past couple of weeks I'd still hold out hope.

• mmqchdygg
    13 years ago

I'd say totally NOT normal...although mine are slow-going, too. I didn't WS any of them this time, but I have lettuce, radish, spinach & chard, and turnips out there. They're consistently growing, but not very fast.
    I had to reseed everything but the lettuce in late March/early April after the monsoons. If that counts for anything.
    The warm stuff (squash/cukes/zucs/beans) are going out this week or weekend.
    I wouldn't sweat it...if those things you mentioned 'fail' completely, you're certainly in time for the rest of the garden.

• mmqchdygg
    13 years ago

...btw, how are your tomatoes doing? I had to redo THOSE, too, after the frost 2 weeks ago. Are you having any luck? I *SO* don't want to have to buy them at the stores!

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA