Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cammonro

Capistrano Rhododendron in CT

cammonro
14 years ago

I see these rhodies everywhere in nurseries here in CT and they always look spectacular in the pot. But I see some on the forums have had mixed success with these plants. I'm very interested in feedback from gardeners in our area. Every year mine puts out vigorous new growth but suffers severe winter dieback despite thorough application of Wilt Pruf in the fall.

Being a total novice when I planted in '07 I had it on a southern exposure but got a total of one bloom. I moved it in June of last year to an eastern exposure. It seemed to do better but again lots of die back. This year it had three bloom buds but two of them dried out before ever opening so again: one bloom. However, I find it to be a very pretty bloom and it looks terrific near our red house.

If I tug on the plant it will come right out of the ground so it doesn't seem to be rooting well at all despite mixing existing soil with compost and microrhyzae when transplanting. This is supposed to be a hardy plant. Do I have a dud or am I doing something wrong?

Comments (5)

• ego45
    14 years ago

Capistrano considered to be the most hardiest of all yellow evergreen rhododendrons. Even with a such tag it's not a reliable bloomer in colder parts of 6a, but blooms fairly good all over 6b.
    "If I tug on the plant it will come right out of the ground ..." Something is not right. After two years in a ground it should be sitting firmly.
    Have you teased the roots before planting or its rootball still have a shape of the pot? If later, then tear it apart and replant.

• cammonro
    Original Author
    14 years ago

That's the strange thing- it doesn't seem root bound. I did transplant last June so it's just been about a year. Perhaps it needs more time?

• cammonro
    Original Author
    14 years ago