Return to the New England Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Southern NH vegetable garden question

Posted by sister3 (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 7, 06 at 13:52

Hello,

This is my first post here. I am very new to vegetable gardening. I have 2 good sized raised beds and have only managed to get my three tomato plants and 5 pepper plants in. This rain is killing me! I still haven't planted my cucumber and summer squash plants. I also have pole bean, carrot and pumpkin seeds that need to get in the ground. I am going to give corn a try again this year.

I hope this weekend is not a complete wash out. Any suggestions on planting in very moist soil so late in the season?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Southern NH vegetable garden question

I'm also in southern NH, and I agree with you - I'm SICK of the rain! (Although I'll probably eat my words in July or August when we have a drought!)

Anyway, keep your veggies under lights inside if you can, until you can get them outside. At least put them near a sunny (HA!) window...well a window that would be sunny if we had any. Transplant them into larger pots if it will be very long before you can get them outside. If you can't transplant them and they become root bound, when you take them out of the pots, pull the bottom roots out and make a verticle slice on all four sides before you put them in the ground.

You can plant your pumpkin, bean and corn seeds indoors and transplant them when the soil dries out.

All the books say not to plant in wet soil, but I've been so desperate, that I did it anyway this year, and the plants seem to be okay. I also have raised beds, and this seems to help a bit. When you plant them, make sure not to plant them any lower in the ground than the soil around them so they don't collect more rain than they would otherwise. I guess you could plant them just a wee bit higher and then when the rains stop, add a little bit more soil to level them out.