Return to the New England Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
PREEN weed killer

Posted by chitra0828 CT (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 8, 09 at 13:55

Hi: I'm a novice gardener with a bit of problem of weeds in our flower beds and ground cover (pachysandra). Due to the prevalence of deer in our area, and the incidence of lyme disease I'm really not comfortable doing more than a little weeding in the sunny patches near our house. I used to have a great, adn reasonably priced gardener who used to weed for us, but he's moved away and others are charging a lot more to do it.

Couple questions:

1. I've been told that PREEN is a very good weed killer that should be applied to the beds in early spring and will do a great job of keeping weeds from growing. Is that right? or is there anything else i should instead use?

2. The nursery told me that typically it is best applied early spring, but if i can get the beds weeded once now, then i can apply it even in mid-june and still see a big reduction in weeds for the rest of the season.

Could you please advice if this is all correct, or if you have any other suggestions I'd much appreciate it.

BEst Chitra

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: PREEN weed killer

Preen isn't a weed killer per se -- it's a pre-emergent which means it prevents weed seeds from germinating. It won't do anything for the weeds that are currently in your beds. I have on and off used Preen in my gardens. I give all the beds a thorough weeding, apply the preen and then cover the beds with about a 2-3" layer of mulch. Honestly, I haven't noticed a huge difference between the years when I used it and the years when I didn't. I think it's more the mulch that's keeping the weeds down, but I'm sure the Preen doesn't hurt. If you do decide to use the Preen, you'll want to make sure you're done with any digging and transplanting. The Preen acts as a barrier and its effectiveness is reduced if you start disturbing the soil. Hope that helps some. Good luck.

o