Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lauramipsome

Newbie Q - Still plant some veg? How to prep area?

lauramipsome
10 years ago

I'm a total gardening newbie with two questions (well, many more than that, but I need to start somewhere!)...
A) Is it too late in the year to plant a few veg plants (was thinking tomatoes and am open to other suggestions)? Would use starter plants, not thinking from seeds (except maybe for some radishes).
The area I would use is two small 4'x4' raised beds in pic below. They are in full sun until around 3pm.

B) Wanting to know what I would need to do to get these beds ready to plant in. They are currently home to a bit of grass and some various weeds. Am I supposed to try to completely eliminate all that stuff, or just till it into the dirt or what? (Like I said, major newb!) The soil in there has the general look of potting soil to it, so I figure I'd just need to maybe add a bit of compost or something when planting.

Thanks for any help!

Comments (6)

• gardenweed_z6a
    10 years ago

A) You're not too, too late for some veggies but I'm guessing soil prep is probably your biggest obstacle. Might get more ideas if you post your question on the vegetable garden thread.

B) Check out lasagna gardening to prep the soil for optimal results. It's not at all complicated or too labor-intensive from what I've read. Fortunately when I moved here the soil was already amazing so soil amendment wasn't necessary prior to planting.

Wishing you yummy success.

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    10 years ago

No, you are not too late. I still have some tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, squash, and cucumber starts waiting to be planted out. (geez, didn't realize that I had QUITE so much to plant till I typed that out, lol.)