Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
soxi_gw

Advice on plants for foundation bed in zone 6a

soxi
11 years ago

Hi, I am new to the gardening world and after looking through many books and magazines with beautiful gardens and landscaping, I thought well that doesn't look so hard, a little elbow grease and bam a beautiful front yard. So I jumped in head first by tearing up the area in front of my house near the foundation. When I started going to local nurseries and browsing websites for trees, shrubs and flowers, I quickly learned that I was in way over my head and perhaps it wasn't as easy as I thought. While I know what I like (lace cap hydrangeas, purple and blue flowers, etc), I realized that I have never been good at designing or putting together a pallete that flows well. So in an effort to not buy a bunch of items that completely clash with my house, would not do well planted with each other, or have to endure months of my neighbors glaring at me for leaving unplanted mounds of dirt next to my house, I am reaching out for advice. If anyone is good at garden layout, knowing what is good planted with what and how to make a foundation design flow well with the house, I would appreciate any and all advice. I can email pictures of the area and dimensions. Thanks so much!

Comments (17)

• soxi
    Original Author
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Here is one of the areas that I need help with. I can’t seem to upload more than one at a time, so next picture will be in a following post...

• soxi
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here is the other. As you can see, they are both blank slates, aside from the unfortunate house color, which will unfortunately be staying for the time being. As I said, any and all advice will be appreciated

• molie
    11 years ago