Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dfaustclancy

Needed ID Tree/shrub w/berries

dfaustclancy
9 years ago

Hi GW fans,

Here is a photo of a tree/shrub with dark berries that grows EVERYWHERE along our pond in Zone 5. Have no idea what it is. Can you guys ID it? The birds love it, but it is so prolific, I'd like to scale it back some...

Thanks for any/all help.

Deb

Comments (14)

• corunum z6 CT
    9 years ago

Hi Deb, could it be Arrowwood Viburnum? I'm no pro, others here can answer better, but you could check the Google link below to see if your leaves match.

Jane

Here is a link that might be useful: Google

• dfaustclancy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Dear Corunum,

Thanks for your response, but no it is not Arrowwood Viburnum... That woulda been nice! I am posting yet another photo for a different view...

• corunum z6 CT
    9 years ago

Right - not a viburnum leaf....hmmm..silky dogwood? We need a pro...

• pixie_lou
    9 years ago

Buckthorn?

• dfaustclancy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Good chance it could be buckthorn? Just read how to control it. Any other ideas? Come on! Chime in. Taking this opportunity to post one more pic....

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    9 years ago

Debra, try the Name That Plant forum, they're usually pretty good at IDs. Sorry, I don't even have a guess.

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    9 years ago

Can you take one clear photo of a leaf, perhaps picking and setting it on a solid surface? I am fairly certain that it is glossy buckthorn (Frangula alnus - used to be Rhamnus frangula) an invasive small tree. We have lots of it. Easy to pull when small, but when it gets too large to pull, I wipe glysophate, generic Roundup, on the leaves. It usually takes two applications (second one when it resprouts stundted leaves) to kill it.

• dfaustclancy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Last photo before I put on name that plant: Thanks for all of the suggestions!

• diggingthedirt
    9 years ago