Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whitegarden

Anyone familiar with veronica virginicia, a.k.a. 'culver's root'

I am going to do some renovating to remove plants that the critters in my area just won't let thrive. I will have echinacea for whoever wants it this fall. Thought I would add this plant but I have never used it before. Anyone have any information?

Comments (9)

• cloud_9
    12 years ago

Very nice plant. Blooming now. Long bloomer. 4-5 feet tall. I have never had deer or anything else bother it. Still alive in my pot ghetto after 3 winters and particularly last year's throw-my-hands-up summer - so pretty hardy. Anything else you need to know?
    : D

• PRO
    Nancy Vargas Registered Architect
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Nope, that'll do it. I need to start pulling out some phlox as it is taking over the bed a bit and, let's face it, it is a big draw for critters. I'll give the culver's root a try.

Thanks for replying.

• Marie Tulin
    12 years ago

which ech?
    Marie

• PRO
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hi Marie,

Standard purple and "white swan" probably. I am just sick to death of finding them eaten down to 4" every year. I have planted at least 20 and have one bloom to show for it this year. I am rapidly shifting my focus from an infatuation with any single plant to a focus on the overall design, good combination of texture and fairly consistent bloom. I am developing a growing appreciation for things like lamb's ear and alchemilla, which pull their weight in the garden and don't lead to stress!

• WendyB 5A/MA
    12 years ago

I used to have the Veronicastrum 'Fascination' on my wishlist. I saw it once and didn't get it and never saw it again. Possibly because I don't look for new perennials much anymore. I don't remember why it made my wishlist, but something to consider.

• capecodder
    12 years ago