Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gsevens

Does anyone use compost tea?

gsevens
14 years ago

This is my first year having a vegetable garden. I started out thinking you plant seeds and water them. Boy, was I wrong. Well, I learned a lot fast due to all the info you can find online. Compost tea was one of those things I read about and saw some videos online about it. It made sense to me so I started making my own tea about 1 month after getting started in the garden. I've had people tell me that the tea must be working because my garden has grown better than theirs ever did. Does anyone else use compost tea? Any special concoction that works better than others?

Thanks,

Paul

Comments (11)

• asarum
    14 years ago

Paul: I don't use compost tea. I tend to use Cockadoodle doo in my raised vegetables beds. I make and use all the compost that I can but usually end up adding it to the sandy soil in my flower beds. I have my own question to add to yours. Is there some greater benefit that accrues to going to the trouble of making up compost tea as opposed to just working compost into the soil or using compost as a top-dressing? It is hard to find answers to this on the compost vs. compost tea on the internet.

• diggingthedirt
    14 years ago

I don't make tea out of my compost, but that's mostly because it's so full of worms, and I don't want to kill them. I think of compost as a great soil conditioner, in that it improves tilth, increases water-holding capacity, and brings lots of micro-organisms back to the soil. As far as nutrition, yeah, it has that too, but why would I give up the other features, plus kill the worms, by making tea, when I can just use it as a top-dressing and get all those benefits? Maybe using it in tea lessens the weed-seed viability?

Anyway, I'm too lazy.

• asarum
    14 years ago