Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deannatoby

How are NE blooming seasons divided?

I'm new to NH from the south, and I haven't figured out exactly how the blooming season would be split here. What is considered early spring, late spring, early summer, midsummer, etc.? I'm trying to decide on some plants to use, but I'm finding it hard to know what new plants will blend with my old plants because I don't know the season divisions. I did not plant the old plants, as we just moved here last year, and thus I don't always know their names. Otherwise, I would be able to just look up the info on the old plants to compare.

How would you describe the seasons? Where I grew up spring started early March and flowers bloomed till November. It's a bit different up here (and, actually, much much better!).

Comments (12)

• WendyB 5A/MA
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

As a start, I would say if you offset by a month would be a good first attempt if you are in southern NH. early March = early April, November=October, etc.

However, each individual yard and micro-climate can vary from the regional averages by a week or two, so you will have to go by trial and error to find your best matched plantings. Even northern NH and southern NH will be vastly different. I assume you are southern NH if zone 5, right?

You may want to pick up a book on New England (or preferably NH) gardening and you may find lists that will help you. Athough if you don't know your plants' names, I guess it won't help too much.

Finding out your plants names will serve you well. THat would be my goal. There is a Name That Plant forum that will help tremendously.

• deanna in ME Barely zone 6a, more like 5b
    Original Author
    14 years ago