Return to the New England Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Connecticut Fall Swap, can we start talking?

Posted by javaandjazz z6 CT (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 5, 12 at 7:19

I know it's still a bit early but let's start talking about the fall swap.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Connecticut Fall Swap, can we start talking?

Hi, I would love to participate.

However, since I am new to gardening as of this June, I am not sure what the proper procedures are.

I do have 30 or 40, maybe more, of day lilies to give away. I had already given away 70+. Yes, over 70. I stopped counting.

I don't have enough sun for them to bloom. I inherited these with the house. They are currently sitting under an evergreen. However, they are nice and green and healthy looking.

I also have columbine seeds, carnation seeds, and swamp milkweed seeds.

-Tina

o

Just bumping this up. Is it too early to start talking about dates?

o

Hey, Richie -

Never too early, I say, 'cause I frequently need to plan well ahead. . .
although I wouldn't be surprised to see a sluggish response here, as
many of us are still dealing with one of the most challenging growing
seasons that I have seen in all my years of gardening. Between heat
waves, freakish rain and wind storms, and now many reports of various
molds and fungii, I suspect folks aren't exactly focused on the joys of a
plant swap!

For what it's worth, the later in September the better for me - didn't we
actually opt for the first Sunday in October one year? Despite the difficult
season, I should have a hefty collection of things to offer, especially since
I'm scaling back and just generally editing.

Tina: this particular CT swap tends to be pretty low-key. . .by following this
post over the next six weeks or so, you'll se it sort of organically take on
a life of it's own. Some people DO post lists of plants they are planning to
bring, and many of us DO make "reservations" with each other for specific