Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tina_n_sam

Is your yard shadier than mine?

Tina_n_Sam
11 years ago

Hello, Everyone

I am ecstatic to have found this forum.

I am new to gardening as of this June. I live in Seymour, CT, which is zone 6.

If I was with my husband when he bought this house, I would have voted "nay" on this purchase.

It has been most difficult gardening or...trying to garden.

1. The majority of my yard is dry shade. Most cannot image that my yard is as shaded as I describe. So, I have included a satellite picture of my property. The roof of my house is the lighter one toward the center and a little to the left. These trees are 50 and 60 ft maples and oaks. What cannot be seen are the evergreens, dogwoods, and other smaller trees planted in the under story.

2. Trees and shrubs have been crammed together. We had to remove various plants including trees, and shrubs because overcrowding and diseased/unhealthy plants. Also, we trimmed off lower branches of trees that we can reach with a pole saw. We haven't even scratch the surface.

3. Every time I mow the back, I mow dirt and pebbles. I have to convince my husband that grass will never grow in deep shade. However, he is unconvinced since he lumps little tufts here and there of crab grass including moss, various clovers, and other weeds I can't name as "lawn".

4. All I have are hostas everywhere. It's been an adventure trying to find some colorful perennials. I'm trying out Japanese ferns, Ghost ferns, bleeding hearts, Ajuga, creeping jenny, Hellebore. In the spring, I will add a hydrangea. Hopefully, they all take and I can upload some pictures next year.

Thanks for listening to me whine about my shaded yard.

-Tina

Comments (17)

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    11 years ago

So, where did you move from?

As much as anything else, it sounds like you aren't from around here, are you?

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    11 years ago