Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vickima

Source for Bright Red Azalea?

vickima
17 years ago

First, I've never grown azaleas but am thinking of them for a foundation planting in zone 5, north facing, part sun. They'll bloom in those conditions won't they? (I've been looking around on the internet a lot, and have read different sun requirements.)

I'm interested in the red ones, not orange or pink. Online I've found reference to a "Girard Crimson" and also a Hinode-giri (but I think the latter may only be hardy to zone 7).

I thought I'd ask fellow New Englanders about specific hardy red varieties and also if you know of any good nurseries who might have them this fall - north central mass or southern NH?

And since I'm really a newbie at this, what's the time window for fall planting of shrubs?

Comments (17)

• Marie Tulin
    17 years ago

The azaela you mentioned is not uncommon. I've seen it a Wagon Wheel in Lexington and I am sure Weston Nurseries in Hopkinton has it. Just call around your area.

The sooner you plant the better. You want the root system to have plenty of time to develop before the temperature gets really low. Bulbs do fine planted through october, and I've melted frozen ground and gotten them in mid november. But even perennials and shrubs are iffy if planted to0 late. The root systems need more time, and the per. are mre likely to get heaved during thaws and freezes. Because NE winters can be nearly snowless (it has happened in recent times) plants are more suseptable to severe snowburn and dessication if that happens. My advice is plant now (don't bother with the sales) and maximize your shrub's chance of success.

• ginny12
    17 years ago

Definitely check out Weston Nurseries in Hopkinton. They are the premier grower of azaleas and rhododendrons in New England and will have pretty much anything you want that grows in our climate.

• tree_oracle
    17 years ago