Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annie77_gw

killing frost

annie77
14 years ago

Hello,

I am pretty new to gardening and I wanted to plant some wildflower seeds this fall but I keep seeing in various places that you must wait until the killing frost had passed. Can anyone tell me what the typical timeframe for this is and how to tell when it's happened? I live about 10 miles northwest of Boston.

Comments (5)

• bill_ri_z6b
    14 years ago

Annie, it's hard to predict when a killing frost will occur. I would suggest that you prepare a bed for sowing (tilling and raking etc.) and then when you've had a killing frost and the ground is chilly, but before it freezes, you could then sow the seeds. I would cover them only lightly with soil and then maybe a light covering of hay to keep them from blowing or washing away. Come the warmer days of spring you should see some sprouting and hopefully enjoy the flowers next summer.
    Bill

• evonnestoryteller
    14 years ago

You can take a look at these links for a good rough idea:

http://www.victoryseeds.com/frost/ma.html
    Regular frost dates?

http://www.farmersalmanac.com/weather/a/average_frost_dates
    Hard frost dates?

http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/neweng/msg0813010424077.html
    A discussion of the Boston frost dates and information at the links.

• asarum
    14 years ago