Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mcube_gw

Frost warning sat night - what will you be doing?

mcube
13 years ago

OK .. It's time ! I just heard on the news that metrowest area is going to get its first frost on saturday night. What will you be doing before the frost and right after? What are you planning on overwintering?

I will try to overwinter

2 brugmansias - dormant in dark basement

few calla lilies - dormant in the basement.

2 colocasia esculenta - green one and black magic - will try to grow as houseplant

3 tropical hibuscus - houseplant

3 bananas - houseplant

Pennisetum Rubrum - houseplant. I have never tried overwintering this before.

I plan on taking some cuttings from sweet potato vines. I will also dig up the tubers after frost and try to save them. I am planning on taking some colues cuttings as well.

After frost, I have dahlias and cannas to dig up and store.

Question:

I have a few tuberous begonias and caladiums. Do I wait for the frost to kill them before digging the tubers?

saturday is going to be a busy day. What will you be saving?

Comments (24)

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    13 years ago

I've had mine in the house for a couple of weeks. I didn't have a lot this year and I did them a little at a time. I still have two Begonias that have to be repotted and brought in. I may take a couple more cuttings of a coleus that did well this year. I have a tuberous Begonia and a caladium that I am not even going to try to overwinter. That's it. I brought in all my houseplants and a standard Hibiscus that I will grow as a houseplant. A few rooted cuttings of succulents from trimmings. A bay leaf tree. It was the easiest Fall in a long time.

• diggingthedirt
    13 years ago

No frost for us on the cape, but it's just a matter of time.