Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nhmom2four

Rose winter protection in our area

nhmom2four
14 years ago

Hi fellow garden lovers. I have lurked here for a while and this is my first time posting. I live in the Seacoast area of NH and last year before adding a garage to our house we had over 30 white pines removed from our one acre, in-town lot. I was inspired by suddenly having sun on my lot and last fall I started planting; last winter I spent reading garden books for the first time in my life; and since spring I have planted non-stop. I have developed a particular love for roses, and have planted two climbers (Red Blaze and Lunar Mist); Drift landscape roses; some miniatures; Abraham Darby; Betty Prior (my favorite); Europeana and more. My question is: Do you give your roses winter protection and if so, what? I have read a variety of protection methods and seen others in the garden center. I would hate to lose my roses to what looks like a very cold winter. Thanks! Barb

Comments (9)

• asarum
    14 years ago

Welcome! I didn't want your first post to go unanswered and get buried in a flurry of new postings.

I don't give my roses any winter protection except that I bring those I have planted in pots into my unheated garage for the winter. One of these roses is not hardy in my zone.

• claireplymouth z6b coastal MA
    14 years ago

I'm in a warmer zone than you, 6b, and my roses don't need any special winter protection here. They're common hardy roses and easily handle my winters.

Hopefully Mad Gallica, who is a rosarian in zone 5, will visit and chime in. Or others in colder climes.

Claire

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    14 years ago