Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arbo_retum

unbelievable long blooming Roxanne geranium

arbo_retum
18 years ago

well, this is my first year growing this and i am dumbfounded as it just blooms its head off. it is actually giving the corydalis lutea a run for its money (but the corydalis does win because it begins blooming much earlier in the year). amazing!!i have it planted next to an all-yellow hachaenachloa(sp.) for a nice color and textural combo.

Comments (27)

• franeli
    18 years ago

I have found fall to be the best season for 'Rozanne'.
    Last year she bloomed until a hard frost here in Z4.

• Sue W (CT zone 6a)
    18 years ago

Isn't this a great plant? Believe it or not people have been dissing it on the perennial forum because it has a lax habit. I either site it to roam or cut back the roving stems in late August. So far it has yet to dissappoint after 3 or 4 years.

Sue

• Cady
    18 years ago

I put one in a raised bed with a lamium (chartreuse and green), and the two duked it out all summer. The "Roxanne" weaves through the lamium, the lamium cascades over the Roxanne, and they both do very well. It's fun to see Roxanne flowers sticking out of a lush mat of lamium.

Wonder why this fab new geranium cultivar is being dissed? Success depends on where you plant it and what you use it for. Knowing a plant's habit and using it to your advantage is the key.

• Saypoint zone 6 CT
    18 years ago

I also have 'Rozanne' and found it to be the longest blooming of the hardy geraniums I've tried so far.

• gata
    18 years ago

I expected my Rozanne to behave as you describe, but inexplicably it hasn't. The 'Jolly Bee' however has not stopped since I planted it in July!!

• martieinct
    18 years ago

Different minds ... I got Rozanne because of the spreading habit. She will be living alongside some lacecap, pink- blooming hydrangea. Her bonus is the flowering habit -- to get two great colors out of new and old flowering is something special.

Martie