Return to the New England Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When are you going to plant your Garlic Bulbs

Posted by plant88 nh (My Page) on
Fri, Oct 17, 08 at 21:15

I am a novice with garlic bulbs. I am interested in when everyone is going to plant their garlic. I live in Southern New England.
The garlic bulb is from a hardy strand in Northen NY.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thank you.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When are you going to plant your Garlic Bulbs

• Posted by mayalena 6 - MetroWest Boston (My Page) on
    Fri, Oct 17, 08 at 22:02

Hi there.
I just received mine from Johnny's today, and will probably plant them next week. Last year, I didn't plant them til mid-November and they still turned out just fine, so there's no rush, as far as I can tell!
Best,
ML

o

I just planted some garlic last weekend. It was the first time I ever planted it.

When I told a local farmer that I planted it, he told me I planted it too early and that he plants his in mid-November. But when I told him the package said to plant in mid-October, and that it was a variety that gets harvested in late May, he said maybe it would be okay.

He just told me to keep an eye on it in case it started growing and if so, to mulch the heck out of it.

So I would think that you are definitely not too late, lol.

Good luck!
:)
Dee

o

I too am a novice at garlic planting, but everything I have researched and the sales rep from the company I got bulbs from recommends planting after your first frost. There was a little frost on my car roof this morning so Id say within the next week or so should be great planting time.
Ive got 2 kinds of bulbs...german extra hardy and russian red.
Lets regroup in the summer with pics and show off how they turn out....sunshineboy

o