Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
claireplymouth

Project Feederwatch

FYI

Project Feederwatch is another gardening-related activity you can engage in during the winter months and months and months and months ....

It's a survey you carry out noting the numbers and types of birds that visit your feeder(s) in the winter season. I joined in the middle of the season last year and found it both enjoyable and instructive.

I'm much more aware now of the types of plants available providing food and shelter for the birds and I'm revising planting plans for next spring. For one thing I want more of a barrier in the feeding area that both blocks the NW winds and limits dive paths for hawks.

About Project Feederwatch

Entry fee is $15 and you can enter your data online.

Claire

Here is a link that might be useful: Project Feederwatch Home Page

Comments (44)

• timct
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I've been doing this for 3 years now and it's been a lot of fun. I've always fed the birds and knew what species they were, but it's great to help out the Cornell folks to give them data to crunch to find out where our feathered friends are.

Claire, Just make sure you are careful about the screen you build. I actually had to remove some shrubs so the feeder birds had a "bolt" hole to escape the Sharp-Shinned Hawk that made my yard part of his hangout. He would use my house and garage as a visual shield and then swoop around it, catching the smaller birds unaware. Now he has a much harder time of catching them or maybe I should say I give the feeder birds a fighting chance.

Tim

• sooey
    17 years ago

Hi Claire,