Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frank_10b

Too late to plant spring bulbs? Help for 'new' W NE garderner

frank_10b
13 years ago

Well I am new to Zone and travel a lot so I just got in my spring bulbs!!!

Well it was over 40 and raining so what can I say it was a nice day! However....

Is it too late? Some of the soil was frozen but I charged ahead anyways and so some bulbs didnt make it soo deep.

Will they grow?

I planted

narcissi professor einstein

narcissi gigantic star

Allium gladiator

Allium purple sensation

The Allium were ok, but some of the narcissi were dried out a bit and a little spongy, but most were ok.

What do you think?

Comments (5)

• arbo_retum
    13 years ago

hi frank,
    i think you're just fine. we are still planting the last of ours. 'spongey', however, means gonzo/no go.

btw, you put 10b as your zone? or does it mean something else? it is very helpful for you and others to list your zone and location.location you have done, great!, but 10b is not the zone of western massachusetts.i don't know your zone but even northern CA is only z.9.

best,
    mindy
    www.cottonarboretum.com/

• arbo_retum
    13 years ago

i saw your amaryllis post>>maybe you go back and forth between fla and ma? in which case maybe you could do your moniker as :

frank10b in FL/5 in W.MA.

IF 5 is your w.ma. zone, of course!

best,
    mindy

• scpearson
    13 years ago

Hello All,
    I JUST planted a whole bag of tulips last week at my mother's house down by Cape Cod. I looked it up and what I found was that it was OK to plant in January IF the ground was not frozen. It wasn't frozen, so I gave it a shot. They aren't going to show promise if I just left them in the bag in the house, so, why not? I don't know how I forgot about them. Out of sight, behind the door, would really be the reason, so I won't do that again. I hope at least a few come up for her to enjoy.
    Good luck with yours!
    Susan

• frank_10b
    Original Author
    13 years ago