Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
murphyj_66

Building a raised bed.

murphyj_66
15 years ago

I am fairly new to gardening. My husband and I had our first garden last year. It was somewhat successful but we need to learn more about how to handle certain plants for our area.We also spent a lot of time fighting the grass and weeds. We live in Brazoria County, Texas. We live fairly close to the coast. We have decided to raise the beds this year with RR ties. We have 2 beds that are about 20 x 10 each, and are 2 ties high. We were wondering what the best type of soil is to put into these and how much we would actually need? We were thinking about layering it with leaf mulch, peet moss and then topsoil. Is there a better way. Also can or should we kill the grass with weed killer before adding the soil? Is there a book that can give us information for our area?

Comments (4)

• petzold6596
    15 years ago

The 'square foot gardening' site, although specifically for sfg, will have answers to your soil question. Another source is the Texas A&M U cooperative extension service site.

Happy gardening.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    15 years ago

Railroad ties are not a good idea for a raised bed where edibles will be grown. They are soaked in creosote, a recognized toxin that will leach into the soil, and are considered a hazardous material. If they are already in place, you need to line the interior with a heavy mil plastic and extend it down below the soil level 4-6 inches.

You do want to get rid of the grass - personally I'd opt for manual removal before using a herbicide, or you can layer the bottom with a good thickness of wet newspapers before adding soil. This will smother the grass or any weeds and will decompose naturally.