Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emma1412

New Gardener

emma1412
10 years ago

Hi im totally new to all of this. Myself and my kids (8 in total) want to grow our own fruit veg and herbs. Any tips help advice etc would be helpful. Also on a very low budget thxs

Comments (5)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Welcome to the world of gardening, Emma!! My first question to you would be where exactly in this world are you located? Narrowing down location will give us a much better understanding of what will be most suitable (and successful!) for you to grow. Explaining what your property may look like in terms of open sunny areas, any already prepared planting beds, the amount of square footage you have to work with will also help us to better guide you.

The good news is that you are asking at an appropriately early time of year, if you live in the northern hemisphere!! Still plenty of time to get a garden area organized before seed starting.

• courtneysgarden
    10 years ago

Yes find out what your zone is (you can look it up online) and let us know where you are in the world. Think about what types of veggies you are interested in growing. I've heard over and over the best things to grow are simply what you like to eat, but also planting them at the right time for your zone and picking proper varieties for your climate helps your success.