Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phillips_em

Inherited Garden w/ No Winter Prep

phillips_em
9 years ago

Hello, I'm new to gardening and this forum. I'm seeking help with the two large (20' x 4' each), raised beds that I inherited when I purchased my home a few months back.
Previous owner planted (lettuce, okra, tomatoes, cherry tom., peppers, strawberries, asparagus, squash, dill, basil, rhubarb). In the busy time of selling/moving, they weren't able to keep up with the weeding, only picked. She was kind enough to walk my through the garden and point out bugs, plants vs. weeds.

By the time we moved in (Aug), the weeds were 3ft tall and only tomatoes (lots of yummy cherry ones), okra, peppers, basil, and dill were still yielding. There was rhubarb but I have no idea what to do with that. The herbs went "to seed" shortly after and the tomatoes grew over the sides of the bed. I tried to keep up with picking among the high weeds but surrendered when they topped my 8yo son's head by mid-Sept.

It was recommended to not try to get in there and cut them down until after the season ended and plants finished yielding and just start fresh next spring. I'd planned to pull up the weeds, but my best intentions fell short. Few leaves in the yard to "cover" the beds for the winter.

Now, ground's hard, snow covered, with subzero temps. Is it too late to plan for the coming spring? What to do in the spring? Pull/Cut/Rake it all? Dump a truckload of fresh soil? What about weeds?
OR do I need to wait an entire year and try again?
We love fresh veggies and I have dreams of eating from my backyard and sitting on my porch trimming gr. beans, but I'm afraid the beans are the only thing green...my thumbs are not.
Plus there is a compost bin...HELP!!!
Thank you in advance

Comments (6)

• jerseygirl07603 z6NJ
    9 years ago

No worries. You can pull/rake the dead stuff in the spring, mix in some compost and you're good to go.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago