Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jedi_knight

New Urban Garden

Jedi_Knight
10 years ago

I just purchased a home and would like to plant a huge urban garden.
last year, in my previous home, i dug up most of the back yard and replaced it with garden and corn but it was destroyed by a wind storm and raccoons.

I am an amateur gardener and may have a lot of time this summer to devote to the garden.

A - I have 40' X 48' full sun lawn area - W

B - 5' X 80' strip in N front of house (between sidewalk and fence)- full sun

C - 6' X 80' strip in N front of house (between sidewalk and street) - full sun

D - 10' X 40' strip on E side of house - Full sun

E - 5' X 40' strip on W side of house - partial sun

F - 5' X 40' strip on W side of house - shade

G - 7' X 30' strip N side of house - shade/ partial sun

F - 40' X 30' area with an apple and cherry tree (have not been pruned for several years)

I visited the extension office and obtained a soil test kit. Do I just need a sample for the whole lot or should I test each area?

For zone D I was thinking of planting strawberry plants and bush beans (companion planting).

Comments (2)

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am exhausted just thinking about the idea of trying to create a garden that covers that whole area in one year. You might want to take it in stages, both because that will be a lot of work, and also because your priorities may change after a couple of years, so taking things in stages may save you redoing things. Figure out what you want the most this year and start with those areas. Trees take longest to grow, so you might want to do those this year also to give them time to get growing.

Starting with soil tests is a great idea. Does your soil seem fairly consistent across your property? If so, I'd take some small amounts from across the property and mix to create the sample, but if there seem to be major differences, have separate samples done.