Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goldieloxintx

Need info on planting tulips

goldieloxintx
17 years ago

Hi there. I am new to the TX area, and today I went out and purchased 5 inch pots full of tulips. I'm a little confused, becasue I always thought tulips were perennials, and here I find out that they are annuals. Is this true? Also, how do I care for them once, planted in the ground. I'm orginaaly from Wi. and the soil down here is completley different then how it is up north. Any type of help would be wonderful. Thanks

Comments (4)

• meldy_nva
    17 years ago

Tulips are considered to be perennial bulbs. However, they require a distinct cold period of at least 6 weeks during their hibernation. In areas that lack this cold, tulips are often refrigerated and potted after the dormant period, then they sprout and eventually bloom. While botanically incorrect, a seller in Florida [or southern Texas] who labels the pots of tulips as "annual" is doing the purchaser a favor -- don't expect those bulbs to bloom next year without extra-special treatment. You've just bumped into one of the differences between Texas and Wisconsin :)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    17 years ago

With a few exceptions (some species tulips and the Darwin hybrids), most modern tulips do not perennialize well. Even in areas with ideal climates for them (and here in the PNW we have the largest commercial bulb growing fields outside of the Netherlands), subsequent years produce mostly foliar growth and almost no flowers. And eventually they disappear entirely, unlike narcissus, which will multiply and naturalize easily. Much of it has to do with hybridization (the naturalizing or perennial gene has been mostly bred out) but it is just as much a factor of care after bloom - tulips orginated in an area that has very dry and hot summers and lean, sandy soils and the enriched soils and normal irrigation of our gardens are just not the conditions that encourage their consistent return.