Return to the New to Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help on watering

Posted by mike7381 none (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 26, 14 at 4:19

Hi, I am new to gardening, I am trying to get my in-ground planters ready for my plants. I purchased strawberries, hydrangea, blueberries and Indian Hawthorne. I have 2 blueberries that are already planted in ground, the rest are still in the containers while I am trying to get my hard clay soil ready for them. However, most people tell me to water them weekly or twice a week, however all of my plants started to tilt if I don't water them for 2 days, and the strawberries tilt and demand water everyday, Even the Indian Hawthorne that are suppose to be drought tolerant and the instruction said once every 2 week started to tilt after 2 or 3 days without water, I wonder what happen? Did I water them correctly? How much water should I give them each time? Could that be I didn't give them enough water when I water them? BTW, I live in southern California. Please help me because I don't want to over water them.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help on watering

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Thu, Mar 27, 14 at 12:43

There is no formula to follow, you must water as needed. Temperature, wind, size of the pot in relationship to size of the plant it is holding will all come into play.

When I water containers I fill to the brim until water is running freely from the drainage holes in the bottom. Depending on what has been used for potting medium, if allowed to completely dry out some can be very hard to rewet, water may go around the rootball and out the holes while the rootball stays dry. If that has happened, you may need to submerge the pot in a larger container of water, hold it down if necessary until bubbles stop rising, then begin watering as needed again.